Overview of QA System

According to the Law on Higher Education, the Kosovo* Accreditation Agency (KAA) supports the implementation of quality assurance measures at two levels: internal and external. For internal quality assurance, KAA works closely with HEIs and supports them to develop and maintain relevant structures and processes. All higher education institutions in Kosovo* are required to have quality assurance offices and instruments of internal evaluation. QA guidelines have been developed for all HEIs. HEIs are required to produce self-evaluation reports and submit them along with applications for programme or institutional accreditation, which is in full compliance with the ENQA Standards and Guidelines for Quality Assurance in the European Higher Education Area. The Tempus programme played an important role in establishing a Quality Assurance culture in Kosovo* and many Tempus projects implement QA principles in line with EU standards at different HEIs in Kosovo*.

Approaches and Methods for Quality Assurance

The external evaluation process of quality, respectively the accreditation process is foreseen by the Law on Higher Education and by the Administrative Instructions on Accreditation of HEIs which were approved by MEST in 2011. According to the legislative framework, the accreditation process is a periodic activity of KAA. It is based on the evaluation of documents submitted by the applicant institution (Self-Evaluation Report) and the findings during the site visit of a team of experts. The members of the expert panel are international experts who have been trained by partner agencies in Europe and abroad. The main parameters that are evaluated are the following:

  • Academic Freedom
  • Scope and Diversity
  • Research at the institution
  • Teaching Staff
  • Procedures for selecting the teaching staff
  • Quality Assurance procedures
  • Study plans
  • Facilities and equipment
  • Financing
  • Development plan

All decisions for accreditation serve as a precondition for granting the licence by MEST.

(Source: EACEA Overview of the Higher Education System, 2017)